Everyone old is n00b again

We had some friends stay over the weekend with us, and it was delightful. They have a toddler a few months older than Roya, and I learned two things (which I assume are eye-rollingly obvious to more experienced parents):

1. No two children naturally have the same nap time. Corollary: each set of parents have different strategies for maximizing the coveted sleep.
2. Children learn from each other fast.

Their toddler walks fine, he demonstrated to Roya that stairs were possible to climb, and presto: climber monkey!

I remain awestruck by watching her figure things out – “you mean if I put my foot like this and push, I’ll be standing?” “Wait, you mean I could hold my own spoon??? Woah.”

Now all I need to figure out is how to mount a gate at the bottom of the stairs without completely wrecking the oddly-shaped railing…

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

One Response to Everyone old is n00b again

  1. Foxfier says:

    From painful experience: DO NOT put the blocker less than two stair-steps away from the bottom. I did a tuck-and-roll into the front door because I didn’t *quite* manage to clear the babygate I’d brilliantly installed on the first step.

    It is awesome, though. Our youngest ate half of my kung pao chicken yesterday, half with a table spoon and half off of my chopsticks, by simply hijacking the chopsticks if I wasn’t fast enough. (He was on my lap because it was a small table.)

Leave a Reply

