A not-so-herbal infusion

I got my PICC line yesterday, and had my first dose of rocephin (the anti-Lyme nuclear weapon), which also includes a flush of heparin – it’s interesting to me that the precise biological function, let alone mechanism of action, are unknown there.

Both times, I had significant vasovagal response – my blood pressure dropped spectacularly and I got both a sudden temperature drop and flop sweat. Yuck.

So far, I can say that this hurts like a &$@;€%¥.

This is from the dressing change (weekly), where the whole area gets isopropyl alcohol. Ouch!

I’m grateful, as I always am, for Sarah: in this case it’s because she has no squeamishness whatsoever and is willing to infuse me and fool with this thing.

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

One Response to A not-so-herbal infusion

  1. Pingback: Roundup doesn’t just kill weeds « Music of the Spheres

Leave a Reply

