Tithing

(I just realized I had left this as “draft” back in June, so it’s late.)

Sarah and I got a bag of some of the most delicious grapefruit last week. These particular ones were from Yafo (Jaffa), Israel, and due to this, we were required separate terumah and maaser. A discussion with a friend at the synagogue pointed out that those routinely ignored laws are actually a bigger deal than 90% of the stuff we routinely obsess about regarding kashrut.

And so the bigger lesson for me here is to remember what matters, and put the effort and intentions there, rather than elsewhere. That is, I should not let myself go down a rat hole.

So welcome back, world. I’ve missed you.

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

Leave a Reply

