An accumulation of flakes (or, “I can see Russia from my porthole!”)

Like a glacier, the oldest stuff is on the bottom.

The “Ghosts and Good-time girls” tour, which Sarah and I had been calling the hookers and blow tour, was exceptionally corny, but was still enjoyable.

I’m beginning to get a sense of blasé about the beautiful mountains: they are all quite magnificent, but there’s a sensory overload in the magnitude. Then again, as I look now at the view from the harbor in Skagway, the mountains and valleys look like God’s handprints on the world.

How is it possible that there aren’t Jews in Juneau? In any case, the true highlight of this trip was taking a helicopter to the west fork of the Herbert glacier and going dogsledding with some Iditarod drivers. There were 3-week old puppies, whom we got to hold (and whom they counted before we left!)

20120709-125023.jpg

It was also cool to see an ADSB system in operation:

20120709-125237.jpg

There is a shelter in Juneau with a very unfortunate name: “The Glory Hole”. Yikes.

I had had severe dread regarding the cruise, because the “premium kosher” option (which had been a big factor in deciding to go) had been canceled, and the folks at the Royal Caribbean head office were being total douchebags about solving the problem. Once we got on board, we told guest services about the trouble we had had, and they said they’d get back to us.
I thought nothing would come of this, and I’d have the first-world problem of being the only cruiser (on a ship, not in a bar) to lose weight. However, that night executive chef Jason Baynor came up to talk to us, and really wanted to make things right. And how! Due to the virtues of double-wrapping and new cookware, we’re effectively getting custom meals made by the top chef on the ship twice per day. Happily, he’s quite experienced with kosher travelers, and this is a better accommodation than I could have hoped for. Boy, that fish is good.

An awesome shipboard presentation was the “behind the scenes” galley tour- as someone who deals in operations and has managed restaurants, I was particularly interested in how this worked. The logistical scale is mind-blowing: 900 meals in 30 minutes. For comparison, at domino’s, 30 seconds to make a large pizza is considered quite good, so that’s 60 pizzas in 30 minutes with one cook. Even better, a whole bunch of stuff is made in-house on dedicated equipment (think bread & ice cream), and that made kashrut investigations a lot easier.

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

3 Responses to An accumulation of flakes (or, “I can see Russia from my porthole!”)

  1. Foxfier says:

    Oh, my, what a cutie!

    And I’m very glad that the Chef was willing to go above and beyond to make things right.

    • thegameiam says:

      And the puppy is cute too!

      🙂

  2. Pingback: An accumulation of flakes (or, “I can see Russia from my porthole!”) « Music of the Spheres « Head Noises

Leave a Reply

