Once, Twice, Three Times (for my lady)

Sarah and I learned earlier this week that we’re expecting. We’re following Sybil Sanchez’s approach, and being open about it, in large part because of the experience we had with our first and second pregnancies, both of which ended in miscarriage.

After the second loss, we saw Columbia Fertility Associates, and after some tests, our endocrinologist said that Sarah had an uncommon chromosomal issue which affected processing of folate – but this is (happily) treated with prescription-strength vitamins, rather than requiring more invasive means. We just got her initial sets of blood work back, and they’re quite encouraging. Yay!

Of course, it would not be human to lack fear – and the anticipation of fear and loss can be every bit as bad as the loss itself. So what to do?

Perhaps I could throw myself on the will of my Creator, nullifying my dreams in the desire for serene acceptance of providential decree? Or perhaps I should erupt in thanks and praise, recognizing that it is the breath of God which quickens life in the womb, and that this miracle has touched us once more is eminently and immanently Divine. Or perhaps I should attempt to persuade, in the vein of the Patriarchs and Matriarchs – all of them prayed for their progeny, and most of their children were hard won.

But why pick one?

So for now, the bubbly, almost giddy expression I’ve been wearing this week is now explainable, and I’ll try to stay in the moment as much as possible.

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

4 Responses to Once, Twice, Three Times (for my lady)

  1. Sarah says:

    Whatever happens, I am comforted that we are in this together and that we love each other so much.

  2. Foxfier says:

    Congratulations, and I’ll pray for you three!

  3. Ari E-B says:

    I can’t tell you how hard we’re pulling for you. What’s Sarah’s Hebrew name?

  4. Sarah says:

    Thank you. Ari. Sarah Yocheved bat Yehudit. I hope Rebecca is feeling great!

Leave a Reply

