Marion Barrycuda, MVP

20120319-090734.jpg

Yesterday, the DC All-Stars beat Buffalo’s Queen City Lake Effect 175 to 77, and for the first time I got a little bit of the hometown rush that my sports-fan-friends have described about baseball and football. Also, Scare Force One continue their undefeated streak against the Cherry Blossom Bombshells in a very close match.

I think Marion Barrycuda is my favorite jammer (skater who can score) – she’s extremely fast and nimble, and was a big part of the DCAS blowout. However, both DCAS Barbra Booey (described by the announcers as “sex on skates, and who wore a gymnast-style skirt rather than trunks like most others) and QCLE’s Bikini Whacks deserve shout outs- excellent jamming.

I was thinking about why I like this sport so much, and I have a few ideas: it certainly appeals to my DIY punk aesthetic- nobody makes any money, and this is all about raw talent; it’s physical and even a bit violent without being gratuitous or vicious; and there’s a playfully naughty thing going on in the sexual entendre, rather than the far more common sleaziness.

Perhaps that last is why old-school pin-ups are so much more appealing to me than the photoshopped grossness which pervades the modern visual landscape.

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

Leave a Reply

