A dish best served cold

I learned from my old friend (the friendship is old, the friend is not) R’ Walls that The Israeli Rabbanut is going after Häagen Dazs. The reason for this is that the Rabbanut (chief rabbinical council of Israel) is deciding to follow the Sefardi (Spanish/Middle Eastern custom) opinion of not relying on a secular government’s validation that “milk” can only come from a cow (as opposed to a non-kosher animal).

What I don’t understand is this: why now? Given that Häagen Dazs has been sold in Israel and treated as kosher for a long time, what is the impetus to stir up trouble? It doesn’t seem to me that things are so quiet that we needed something to argue about, so I suspect that there is more to it than that.

But I am disappointed: Häagen Dazs makes the only kosher rocky road ice cream I’ve ever encountered, and their pralines & cream is a thing of beauty.

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

2 Responses to A dish best served cold

  1. Elanit says:

    good thing you dont live in Israel then. you can still enjoy the rocky road.

  2. thegameiam says:

    Fair point! But I still do wonder what makes today different than other days…

Leave a Reply

