Sew what?

I bought a new Atara for my tallit when we were in Israel. I did this because I’ve started wearing my tallit over my head during the Amidah, but I was finding that it kept slipping off – so I needed something with a bit more weight.

So when I went to sew it on, Sarah asked whether I shouldn’t just take this to a tailor to do a professional job – no, says I, I’d rather have the pride of personal workmanship! I started sewing it on by hand, as I don’t have a sewing machine.

Of course, two days before Rosh Hashana I took an accounting, and realized that I was only 1/4 of the way through – so I ended up going with the tailor after all. D’oh! But the silver lining of the story is that the tailor praised my sewing skill (!) and said that of course she’d use a machine because it would take way too long by hand (!!)

So all that is a prelude to a big “thank you” to my mom, who insisted that I learn to sew (although I’m not in her league – she makes her own clothing, while I can be pleased with how well a button is attached).

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

Leave a Reply

