Babyproofing Your Marriage

Babyproofing Your Marriage: How to Laugh More, Argue Less, and Communicate Better as Your Family GrowsBabyproofing Your Marriage: How to Laugh More, Argue Less, and Communicate Better as Your Family Grows by Stacie Cockrell
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Babyproofing Your Marriage is easily the best book on marital relationships I’ve ever encountered, let alone read. The authors (three women) do a better job of getting inside the male brain than any comparable book I’ve encountered. Specifically, they do an excellent job explaining how precisely men connect sex with self worth and intimacy, and how corrosive vicious cycles get started. In recognizing how effectively they get inside men’s heads, I assume that their translations of women’s emotions into man-speak are as accurate as their translations of men’s emotions. The lessons in the book are couched in terms of what having a child or children will do to the daily life of the couple, but they are remarkably applicable to couples without children – good lessons in effective communication are always a good idea.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough, and hope lots of my married friends read it.

View all my reviews

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

Leave a Reply

