My Fantasy Life

In my fantasy life, the parvo infection I had went away without leaving me with any lasting damage. I’d be able to bicycle to work (and even give MJP‘s bike back, and get one of my own), and my upper body strength and overall fitness level would have been increasing all spring. I’d also be able to devote some serious time to finishing the album – I’ve barely used my amp since it got repaired – and maybe even get some of the half-songs I have half-written turned into whole songs.

Even better, I’d be able to take a new rider class at the best named dealer ever, and hopefully get started on the great-gas-mileage-but-made-of-awesome experience which is commuting by motorcycle.

And a pony – gotta have a pony.

But back in this world, my health isn’t letting me get to riding right away, and music has been on hold. This came up for me today because I saw some of Rolling Thunder, which I think is about the coolest thing ever. Hopefully soon I’ll be over this stuff and can tolerate the vibrations – right now an electric razor is about my limit – because it sure would be nice to enjoy the commute to work a bit more.

A few weeks ago, I was in a conversation with some friends about my desire to ride, and the general sense was that I’m sufficiently accident prone that this would be a death sentence. I don’t agree with this – the accidents to which I’m prone are qualitatively different: the bicycle accident I got into was not while I was riding, but rather was walking into a crotch-height bike rack. But time will tell as to whether this is an option of any kind.

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

One Response to My Fantasy Life

  1. Michael says:

    Here I thought you weren’t allowed to ride a motorcycle until you hit 70. Did Sarah change her mind?

Leave a Reply

