chop wood, carry water

I’m not doing what I’d like to do today. You see, today is the 16th anniversary of my first date with Sarah, and what I’d like to do is perhaps go to a nice restaurant and then snuggle on the couch while watching a decent movie.

Instead, Sarah is in Phoenix, attending (with her sister) to her (very, very) sick father. I’m at home, caring for the dog and trying to clean and de-clutter the house, but I find it hard to focus on anything here.

So I’ll think about the fragility of life today – it is only due to countless daily miracles that any of us can survive, much less have any dignity in the world, and I’ll be comforted in the fact that I have had the pleasure of being with Sarah for very nearly half my life.

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

One Response to chop wood, carry water

  1. Sarah says:

    This is even more poignant when u consider my dad & his wife would be married 1 year May 16.

Leave a Reply

