Smokin’!

This morning, the gas station right behind our house caught fire, and several cars on the premises exploded. Here is a photo of the burning building.

I had gone outside, and noticed an awful smell. A person outside asked me if I knew where it was, and that’s when he pointed out the plume of black smoke that looked like it was coming from our house. I ran back inside to tell Sarah to get out, and from the back porch I saw all kinds of flames. I called 911, but they already had a report of the fire – so it occurred to me that the stuff between the fire and our house was wood and trees, so it could spread pretty easily. I started hosing down the fence and our trees with water – it wouldn’t stop a serious advance, but it might keep burning embers from igniting – and then we saw the firemen arrive and start to put it out.

Our front (!) steps got coated with ash, but fortunately there was no involvement of any of the surrounding houses, and no injuries reported. All told, though, I’d rather get my morning jolt from coffee.

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

One Response to Smokin’!

  1. Ari says:

    Gas stations on fire? Damage to property? exploding cars? This is ridiculous. I mean, I know the Japanese are considered trendsetters and all….

Leave a Reply

