Not just a chess game

I’ve learned from those wiser than I that ideally every day is an opportunity for learning something new. Today, I learned two prosaic things:

On the way to work, I discovered why commuter bicycles have fenders. Specifically, I had the joy of riding through relatively light rain (which wasn’t a problem), and getting the nice wet trail running straight up my backside like a rooster’s tail. To add to the fun, I learned that the nice heavy trousers which are so good in cold weather take several hours to dry.

On the way home, I learned that riding during strong winds is hard, and a little scary. I’m used to being able to accelerate to a plausible speed on a flat road pretty quickly – tonight, I felt like one of the extras in the Red Queen’s race. The worst is the Key Bridge, because the bicycle / pedestrian causeway isn’t so tremendously wide, is completely unprotected from wind, and strong side gusts can send you straight into the railing.

Fortunately these learning opportunities were mostly harmless.

About thegameiam
I'm a network engineer, musician, and Orthodox Jew who opines on things which cross my path.

Leave a Reply

